Mapping the Nodes: First Take

Wondering who all the people in #rhizo15 are beneath the tweets, I tossed together a Google form a few days ago and invited people to answer some basic questions about themselves.

The form is here and if people want to keep adding their data, I’ll keep updating the maps.

I then imported this (imperfect) data into a Google Map.  The last time I did this, I could put multiple markers for each person, but that seems not to happen now.  I love that many of us identified “home” as somewhere that can’t be found on a map, so that marker wasn’t going to work anyway.

Nonetheless:

It’s difficult to tell from the preview, but my sense is that this will be best viewed by clicking through to the actual map.  Click on the markers, of course.

I’ve used this in my classes as we’ve launched new teacher education cohorts where we work hard to create learning communities where it will be safe to take intellectual and personal risks, and I want to clarify right way that when I talk about “tech”, I am *not* talking about the digital worksheets that they see in so many schools.

My inspiration for this was teacher Steve Goldberg.

I, for one, have loved beginning to click through to read more about people as people.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Mapping the Nodes: First Take

  1. Michael S. Weller says:

    Thanks for putting this together! I’m looking forward to spending more time with this map!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Rhizo ’15: Thoughts on the first week | Michael S. Weller's Blog

  3. Maha Bali says:

    Love the idea! Thanks to both Michael and Barry Dyck for helping me find your blogpost, Jane!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Mapping the nodes for #rhizo15: my photo choice | NomadWarMachine

  5. Susan says:

    Yes, thank you. This map gives me a better perspective.

    Like

  6. Ann says:

    This is wonderful! Filling out the form now!

    Like

  7. Jim Stauffer says:

    Really great – have found someone I HAVE to contact through this

    Like

What do you think?

